Transfer pricing compliance in Russia. Part 3. Stages of transfer pricing compliance

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Dentons’ Tax and Customs practice congratulates its clients and friends on the end of the first stage of transfer pricing compliance for 2016 – the filing of the notification of controlled transactions completed in 2016!

Now the second stage is coming: preparation of transfer pricing documentation. It’s time to contact us at Dentons’ Tax practice!

*****

Considering that in practice intragroup prices are much more often checked not by the Federal Tax Service of Russia in controlled transactions but by the local tax authorities in uncontrolled transactions (see pages 46-47 of the Federal Tax Service of Russia’s official report), in the second stage we recommend that our clients develop substantiation in advance:

  • Not only for controlled transactions in the format of Transfer Pricing Documentation (Art. 105.15 of the RF Tax Code);
  • But also for uncontrolled transactions that may cause the tax authorities to suspect price manipulation of intragroup transaction prices, for example, loss-making transactions, uncompensated issuance of suretyships, lease, license and sub-license agreements.
  • The format and structure for substantiating prices in this case may be simpler than the Transfer Pricing Documentation. What is important is that it shows the business objectives of the transactions and arguments for the pricing actually applied.

However, the most strategically important stage of transfer pricing compliance is adapting the group’s international transfer pricing policy to the Russian context for international companies (developing a transfer pricing policy for Russian companies). This third stage will make it possible to not have to justify the terms of already completed transactions after the fact, but to diagnose possible problems at the stage of entering into intragroup transactions and to minimize (anticipate) related risks.

Thus, the usefulness and effectiveness of transfer pricing compliance measures for the taxpayer is inversely proportional to their mandatory nature:

  • Only the first stage is mandatory, although the price of errors in a notification is not more than RUB 5,000 and the hypothetical risk of attracting the attention of the tax authorities in a tax audit.
  • Errors at the second stage or underestimating its importance and completing transactions without developing proper substantiation may cost your business much more, especially at a time when penalties have almost doubled (see Federal Law No. 401-FZ) and fines on controlled transactions are doubled (up to 40%) from 2017.
  • Finally, persistent mistakes in setting the prices of key transactions for the business may become the price of disregarding preventive control over intragroup pricing. The consequences of such errors, especially those that cannot be corrected after the fact at the second stage, can be catastrophic.

Such a multifaceted approach makes it possible to control pricing risks and maintain an all-around defense taking into account the legislation, international approaches and the Russian practice of applying the laws:

At the same time, the most common error made at the second and third stages is to uncritically use samples and templates, often those prepared in a group of companies immediately after the adoption of Section V.1 of the RF Tax Code based on international approaches/a global transfer pricing policy that are/is appropriate at the time. Whereas such a position could be justified five years ago because there was no other practice, today it may do more to harm than help, as it gives management the illusion that intragroup pricing is protected from tax audits.

As a result, cases are widespread in the practice of pricing audits of transfer pricing where Transfer Pricing Documentation is used against the taxpayers who have submitted it, for example, because they contain “in passing” information that contradicts the taxpayer’s main stated position, the selection of the TP method, tested party and net margin indicator.

Transfer Pricing Documentation that has “frozen” at the level of 2012 methodology (even though the global transfer pricing toolkit has considerably “matured” recently) can also often be seen. The technical performance of such sets of Transfer Pricing Documentation deteriorates entirely over time. This happens if document updating is confined to a new benchmark that from year to year is entrusted to ever less experienced employees with the request to “make it according to the sample.” The following may be symptoms of such an approach:

  • The set of comparable companies do not change from year to year.
  • Only the deductive approach (downloading from databases) is used to find comparable companies without using the additive approach (detailed analysis of manually selected comparable companies).
  • There are no strict uniform comparability criteria, which often masks that the selection of companies is being “adapted” to confirm the desirable “arm’s length” range.
  • There are no additional criteria for checking the comparability of companies, for example, diagnostic (financial) ratios (pages 48-49 of the Transfer Pricing Toolkit, see section 6.3.1 on the link).
  • Failure to use internationally recognized adjustments, in particular, working capital adjustments to determine a return on sales arm’s length range for a trading company.

For this reason it is vitally important to keep up with the times and update the Transfer Pricing Documentation and Transfer Pricing Policy not just to “check the box,” but meaningfully, taking into account both the change of business processes in your company and the development of approaches to transfer pricing around the world, the intensification of information exchange, including CbCR, and the development of court practice.

*****

The lawyers and tax compliance specialists of Dentons’ Tax and Customs practice have considerable transfer pricing experience acquired working in key sectors of the Russian economy such as oil and gas, metals, construction, agriculture, chemicals, mechanical engineering, pharmaceuticals, banking, insurance, FMCG, DIY, IT, and in services:

  • Advising, including on preparing transfer pricing documentation and policies, structuring intragroup deals and carrying out corporate restructurings
  • Handling tax disputes both under the rules of Article 40 of the RF Tax Code (so-called “old” Russian TP rules) and under the rules of Section V.1 of the RF Tax Code (so-called “new” Russian TP rules), including before the RF Supreme Court and when supporting tax audits under Article 105.17 of the RF Tax Code (special TP audits performed by Federal Tax Service)

and would be happy to apply this experience to identify and minimize risks with due account for the specifics of your situation and modern approaches to transfer pricing.

ТЦО комплаенс в России. Часть 3. Этапы ТЦО комплаенса

Налоговая и таможенная практика Dentons поздравляет своих клиентов и друзей с завершением первого этапа ТЦО комплаенса за 2016 год – подачей уведомления о контролируемых сделках, совершенных в 2016 году!
Теперь очередь второго этапа – подготовки обоснования соответствия цен внутригрупповых сделок рыночному уровню. Самое время обращаться к нам в налоговую практику Dentons!
*****
Учитывая, что на практике цены на порядок чаще проверяются не ФНС России в контролируемых сделках, а территориальными налоговыми органами в сделках, которые не относятся к числу контролируемых (см. официальный отчет ФНС России, стр. 46-47), в рамках второго этапа мы рекомендуем нашим клиентам заблаговременно разработать обоснование:

  • не только для контролируемых сделок в формате ТЦО Документации (ст. 105.15 НК РФ);
  • но и для неконтролируемых сделок, которые могут вызвать подозрения у налоговых органов в манипулировании ценами внутригрупповых сделок, в частности, таких как, например, убыточные сделки, безвозмездная выдача поручительств, аренда, использование товарного знака.

Формат и структура обоснования цен в таком случае может быть более простым, чем ТЦО Документация. Главное, чтобы в нем были указаны деловые цели совершения операций и аргументация примененного порядка ценообразования.

Вместе с тем, наиболее стратегически важным этапом ТЦО комплаенса является адаптация международной ТЦО политики группы под российскую специфику для международных компаний (разработка ТЦО политики для российских компаний). Этот – третий – этап позволяет не постфактум обосновывать условия уже совершенных операций, а диагностировать возможные проблемы на стадии заключения внутригрупповых сделок и минимизировать (предвосхищать) связанные с ними риски.
Таким образом, по сути, полезность и эффективность мер ТЦО комплаенса для налогоплательщика обратно пропорциональна их обязательности:

  • только первый этап является обязательным, хотя цена ошибок в уведомлении не превышает 5 000 руб. и гипотетического риска привлечь повышенное внимание налоговых органов в рамках налоговой проверки;
  • ошибки на втором этапе или недооценка его значимости и совершение сделок без разработки надлежащего обоснования могут стоить вашему бизнесу значительно дороже, особенно на фоне почти двукратного увеличения пени (см. Федеральный закон № 401-ФЗ) и двукратного увеличения штрафов в отношении контролируемых сделок (до 40%) с 2017 года;
  • наконец, ценой пренебрежения к превентивному контролю над внутригрупповым ценообразованием могут стать систематические ошибки в установлении цен ключевых для бизнеса сделок. Последствия таких ошибок, особенно тех, которые уже не могут быть исправлены постафактум на втором этапе, могут быть катастрофическими.

Такой комплексный подход позволяет контролировать ценовые риски и держать «круговую оборону» с учетом законодательства, международных подходов и российской правоприменительной практики:

В то же время самая распространённая ошибка, совершаемая на втором и третьем этапах, заключается в некритичном следовании шаблонам и лекалам, зачастую заготовленным в группе компаний сразу после принятия раздела V.1. НК РФ на основе международных подходов/глобальной ТЦО политики, актуальных на тот момент. Если 5 лет назад такая позиция могла быть оправданной, ведь иной практики не было, то сегодня она может скорее навредить, чем помочь, поскольку создает у менеджмента иллюзию защищенности внутригруппового ценообразования от налоговых проверок.
В результате в практике проведения ценовых проверок по ТЦО распространены случаи использования комплектов ТЦО Документации против представивших их налогоплательщиков, в том числе из-за отражения в них «между делом» сведений, которые противоречат заявляемой налогоплательщиком основной позиции, выбор метода, тестируемой стороны, показателя рентабельности.
Также зачастую можно видеть ТЦО Документацию, которая «застыла» на методологическом уровне 2012 года (несмотря на то, что глобальный ТЦО инструментарий сильно «возмужал» за последнее время), а с точки зрения технического исполнения такие комплекты ТЦО Документации со временем вовсе деградируют. Это случается, если обновление документации сводится к новому бенчмарку, который год от года поручают делать все менее опытным сотрудникам с напутствием «сделай по образцу». Симптомами такого подхода могут быть:

  • неизменность состава сопоставимых компаний в выборке из года в год;
  • использование для поиска сопоставимых компаний только метода исключения (выгрузки из баз данных), без учета метода добавления (точечный анализ и выбор сопоставимых компаний);
  • отсутствие строгих единообразных критериев сопоставимости, что зачастую прикрывает «подгонку» выбора компаний для построения «нужного» интервала;
  • отсутствие дополнительных критериев проверки сопоставимости компаний, в частности, diagnostic (financial) ratios (стр. 48-49 Инструментария ТЦО, см. п. 6.3.1. по ссылке)
  • неиспользование признанных в международной практике корректировок, в частности, корректировки на рабочий капитал для построения интервала рентабельности продаж для трейдинговой компании.

В этой связи жизненно важно идти в ногу со временем и обновлять ТЦО Документацию и Политику по ТЦО не «для галочки», а содержательно, учитывая как изменение бизнес-процессов в рамках Вашей компании, так и развитие подходов к ТЦО во всем мире, интенсификацию информационного обмена, в том числе CbCR, развитие судебной практики.
*****
Специалисты налоговой и таможенной практики Dentons имеют значительный опыт в области ТЦО, полученный при работе в ключевых отраслях российской экономики, в частности, нефтегазовой, металлургической, строительной, сельскохозяйственной, химической, машиностроительной, фармацевтической, банковской, страховой, FMCG, DIY, IT, а также в сфере услуг:

  • в рамках консультационной работы, в том числе по подготовке ТЦО документации и политик, а также структурированию внутригрупповых сделок и осуществлению корпоративных реструктуризаций;
  • в ходе ведения налоговых споров как по правилам статьи 40 НК РФ, так и по правилам раздела V.1 НК РФ, в том числе в Верховном Суде РФ и при сопровождении ценовых проверок, предусмотренных статьей 105.17 НК РФ;

и будут рады применить его для выявления и минимизации рисков с учетом индивидуальных особенностей Вашей ситуации и современных подходов к ТЦО.

Джангар Джальчинов

Джангар Джальчинов

Геннадий Тимоничев

Геннадий Тимоничев

Геннадий Тимоничев

Геннадий Тимоничев